TISSUEfarmLogo5BW

What our Guests are Saying

      Visited in mid-September and arrived in time for dinner. Suzanne helped me find somewhere to get food. Since it’s the off season there were limited options, but I appreciated the help.

    thumb Sarah
    9/19/2019

      We loved staying at Suzanne and Pope's place. It's in the perfect location for everything we wanted to do during our trip. The bed was incredibly comfy, the sun room was perfect, and having morning coffee was so convenient, not to mention delicious! Suzanne, Pope, and Giovanni were wonderful hosts. We will definitely say with them again when we are in the area!

    thumb Brittany
    9/29/2019

      This property is clearly the lovechild of seasoned, hip artists with abundant attention to details of aesthetics and comfort. Ask Pope for the historical description, which adds the dimension of architecture as time travel. This place is destined to become an iconic cultural landmark in the Laurel Highlands area. The few extra turns on the road are well worth it!

    thumb Doug
    10/20/2019

      Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, interesting hosts, a great place to stay! Highly recommended.

    thumb Philip
    10/22/2019

      First off, Pope and Suzanne are wonderfully responsive. Pope and Suzanne’s Tissue Farm building, site and location are historically impressive and well situated for hiking, bike touring, and kayaking among other activities. The Tissue Farm is wonderfully clean and tidy with great common space to read or let your mind wander. Given Pope and Suzanne’s creative energy, I would happily stay in Confluence, PA again and Tissue Farm would be top of my list.

    thumb Robert
    9/10/2019

      This was the first time I've stayed in an Air BNB and I didn't know what to expect. I knew it was a room in someone's home, and I knew the area that it was in, as I usually camp down the road. The price was more reasonable than most chain hotels I've stayed in nearby and the cleanliness was impeccable. There is character and charm in the Tissue Farm. The room was cozy and warm, eclectic art adorns the walls, organic soap and toiletries are provided in the bathroom, and a tasty breakfast of oatmeal with fresh pears and coffee was provided in the morning, and the hosts Suzanne and Pope were really cool and hospitable.

    They have a really cool vision of the future of the Tissue Farm which includes a coffee shop, art gallery, and maker space, as well as restoring a vintage RV trailer as another Air BNB room. I'm excited to stay at the Tissue Farm again on my next visit to the area!

    thumb Dan
    1/19/2020

      I came to Confluence to get “off the grid”. To spend a couple days with my phone off; no ties to life, no obligations, and a bit of optimism to find a little peace with nature. I don’t know exactly what I was looking for, but I found a lot of it on this trip — due in no small part to this space and the people who run it.

    First things first, Pope and Suzanne are phenomenal hosts. Quick to communicate, and wholeheartedly committed to ensuring you have a good time. They’re transplants to the area themselves, so they know the ropes, they know their way around, and importantly, they know your perspective as a visitor. They estimated that 51% of their guests are in town for Fallingwater, and they’re deeply knowledgable about this, offering some great tips about other Frank Lloyd Wright interests in the area, as well as tips about some other parts of town I came to thoroughly enjoy. There was a lot to be said about serendipity on this trip — “the artist going off the grid” finding a space where the hosts happened to be true, lifetime artists, off the grid? Absolutely wild. Also, Giovanni, their dog, is remarkably adorable. A very good boy indeed.

    Second things second, the space itself! My lord! A 1940s car dealership converted to an arts space and a home. I might've paid admission to just take a tour, let alone to live there for a couple days. Pope and Suzanne encouraged me to play my acoustic guitar in the studio space — unbelievably, there’s no photo of this room on the listing (at the time of writing) — but it was a marvelous, open space that I’m grateful to have occupied. When the sun set over the river through the factory-style windows as I poorly played guitar lines unworthy of the space’s absolutely remarkable, natural acoustics… it was one of my favorite moments of my brief vacation. A note to musicians: maybe record a song here!

    The living areas that are meant to be shared are also truly first-rate, and I am similarly surprised there are no photos on the listing of these. The art hung on the walls is striking, and the furniture and decor are tastefully hip (I heard it’s been described similar to "quaint farmhouse meets New York loft”, which I’d hold very accurate). The bathroom was stocked with any and everything you might need, including handmade soaps from Oakland. Oh, and the kitchen? It was stocked as if the essentials were handpicked by gourmands -- everything from various oils (craft e.v.o.o. to sunflower), down to some very exceptional artisan, himalayan salt. When I saw this, I think I let out an audible “hot damn.”

    Not only is this an objectively perfect place to stay, you’re doing good by the community to stay here. Confluence (and the surrounding area) is bolstered by a significant amount of tourism income, and yet, there is very little arts space. By staying here, you’re helping fund a small business that seeks to inject the arts into Confluence, to provide residency programs, and also to establish an espresso shop and apothecary. But (most importantly, in my opinion), you’re helping to provide Confluence with a relevant gallery. When you stay at Tissue Farm, you’re helping the community — the local youth! — attain a local, relevant, and *accessible* arts space! It’s so important!

    This is one of the longer reviews I’ve typed out for an AirBnB, but without question, my stay at Tissue Farm was the best experience I’ve had on this platform. Whether you’re in the area for an outdoors excursion, or a few Frank Lloyd Wright tours, or just to get off the grid — it’d almost be foolish to stay anywhere else.

    thumb Grayson
    3/10/2020

      Suzanne and Pope made us feel so welcome, both to their home and to Confluence. Pope gave us a tour of their historic building and provided us with a flavor of the area. Very comfortable accommodations, coffee and tea available anytime, bikes secured inside. Thoroughly enjoyed talking with them. Such wonderful hosts.

    thumb Dennis
    10/06/2019

      Great place! Super friendly host.

    thumb Julie
    8/16/2019

      Great place to stay. Little backyard patio. Quiet area.

    thumb Lucia
    8/05/2019

      What a great hospitality, they are amazing, they treat you as a friend. They have a beautiful history house. I am sure you love and will come back again. Great location, close to the gas station. The only thing the area doesn’t have service but they do have wfi.

    thumb Mansour
    12/08/2019

      Suzanne and Pope were great hosts. Awesome location and really cool historic building which was appealing to learn about. Thanks again guys!

    thumb Michael
    10/10/2019

      If I could give 6 stars, I would.

    Tissue farm is an amazing place full of character.

    We loved talking with Suzanne and her husband, they were welcoming and warm. Couldn't have asked for better!

    The room has nice touches. They provide a space heater and there is fresh water and glasses in your room.

    Suzanne went above and beyond offering me gluten free treats she made for herself.

    The town is stunning and quaint. Really nothing short of amazing.

    I HIGHLY recommend and I can't wait to go back!

    thumb Kathryn
    10/27/2019

      Had a great visit and stay with Suzanne and Pope! Place is adorable and had a nice cozy bed. Location was great for my mom and I since we had tickets to Falling Waters and Kentuck Knob in the morning.

    thumb Abby
    11/01/2019

      Great stay! Very friendly and beautiful space! Super clean!

    thumb Kim
    8/25/2019

      A must stop!

    thumb Emily
    9/13/2019